teacher and students

About inclusionED

What's new!

You may have noticed some changes on our site.  Here is a list of some of the additional features.

Categories - We have added more categories to make it easier to find the practices you need.

Share  - You can now share practices via email with your colleagues.

Save  - You can save practices to your profile to make it easier to come back to.

Resources - We have added a resources section to make it easy to find any templates, documents or other resources to support you in the classroom.

Goal setting - you can set your goal in the practice or using the goal setting link on the right hand side of the practice page.

Practice toolkit - We have added a practice toolkit with links to goal setting and a practice template to help you refine and reflect on your goals and support your professional development.

Updated headings:

  • Prepare to teach has replaced Plan
  • In the classroom has replaced Apply

About inclusionED

inclusionED is an online professional learning community, co-designed with educators, for educators. It provides free evidence-based and research-informed teaching practices and tools to support diverse learners in inclusive classrooms.

In the average Australian classroom, at least three children have a learning difficulty or neurodevelopmental disability. The support and scaffolding these children receive during school can set the trajectory for the rest of their lives, but many teachers don't feel equipped to effectively support the learning of all students in their classrooms.

In 2016, Autism CRC finalised a national study to understand the educational needs of students on the spectrum, surveying 1,500 educators, parents and students. The study participants told us that we needed to develop evidence-based resources and teaching practices and to upskill educators, to provide more inclusive environments for students with diverse learning needs, including those on the spectrum.

The teaching practices on inclusionED are underpinned by the principles of Universal Design for Learning. They don't provide a single one-size-fits-all solution but rather flexible approaches that can be customised for individualized learning. The platform also facilitates a national community of practice, enabling social sharing, comments and reviews of the experience implementing specific practices. During the co-design and development of inclusionED, educators reflected on the value of being part of an active, ongoing conversation to share good ideas that work in real classrooms.

More than 200 teachers, parents, young people on the autism spectrum and professionals have been involved in the co-design, development and evaluation of the inclusionED platform.


inclusionED has been delivered through a collaboration between Autism CRC and Queensland University of Technology (QUT).

inclusionED was developed in consultation with teachers, policy makers, parents and students around Australia. The design and development was led by Associate Professor Michael Whelan, Dr Keely Harper-Hill, Dr Jeremy Kerr, Dr Oksana Zelenko, Professor Suzanne Carrington (from QUT), Dr Wendi Beamish (from Griffith University) and Brendan James, Cally Jackson and Cheryl Mangan (from Autism CRC).

We would also like to acknowledge the support of the broader research team members Caitlin Hultgren, Clare Vilalba, Jacqueline Dunne and Jessica Cheers (from QUT).

inclusionED combines the outputs of more than 25 research and development projects carried out through Autism CRC's School Years Program in more than 300 Australian schools over the past six years.

We thank the many hundreds of schools across Australia, their students, teachers and other school personnel, parent communities, and autistic people who have been part of our journey.

Supporting organisations:

Evidence 4 Learning




Positive Partnerships



AITSL was formed to provide national leadership for the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments in promoting excellence in the profession of teaching and school leadership with funding provided by the Australian Government.

Researchers and research partners:

AEIOU Asperger Services Australia Independent Schools Queensland
Autism Queensland Austism Spectrum Australia Brisbane Catholic Education
Catholic education commission of Victoria Curtin university Department of Education Queensland
Department of Education Tasmania Department of Education Victoria Griffith University
Queensland University of Technology University of Queensland  

Educator Advisors:

Adam Birkby Janette Cullen Liz Stewart-Oliver
Afrodite Totten Janette Cullen Louise Mammoliti
Alison Lewis Jason Boyce Lyndal Bryant
Allison Edwards Jason Boyd Lynette Urquhart
Amanda McEwen Jeanne  Pienaar   Maree  Maxfield
Amanda Sharrock Jennifer Cavendish Mary Hughes
Amanda Porter Jennifer Abercromby Meg Foley
Amanda Wenn Jennifer Evenhuis Melanie Heyworth
Amanda (Mandy) Towle Jennifer  Robin  Melissa  Braddock
Amy Baker Jesse Rivett Michael Rowell
Amy McCulloch Jodie  Milne Michelle Hambly
Andrew Kerr-Stevens Jonathan Case Michelle Maguire
Angela Connors Joy  Robson Nadine Russell
Anita Young Judy Galos Nichole Mellish
Anna  Varghese  Julie-Anne  Staines Nicole Inder
Anne McCulloch Karen  Camplin Nicole  Heathcote
Anne McKenny Karen  Macpherson Niomi Johnson
Ashe Lan Karlee-Jean Haansbergen Olive Brittain
Belinda  Keam Kate Troyahn Paula Norcott
Ben Callcott Kate Wilson Peter Langdale
Bess   Sellars Kate Kearney Rachael Roberts
Carmel Cooper Katey Daley Rachel  White
Casey Kelly Katherine Taylor Rebecca Cavanagh
Catherine Jones Katherine Fowle Rebekah Rashid
Christa Stone  Kathryn Randall  Rhiannon Kemp 
Danni-Leah  Bysouth Kathy Williams Roe Johnson 
Derek Wood Kathy  Isaacs Sally Ryan
Di Hatcher  Katrina Butler Samantha Rostenburg
Dorit Goren Daniel Kaye Gahan Sarah Meka
Elisabeth  Lord Keira-June Alberts Sarah MacDonald
Elizabeth Scouller Kelli Turnbull Sharon Volschenk
Elli Dowley Kelli Porta Sharon Oakes
Elyse Clarke Kelly Yusuf Sharon Elvins
Emma Beynon Kelly  Pavey Sharyn Findlay
Erin Frost Kerri-Anne Nolan Sharyn Twig
Fiona Baker Kristina (Tina) Wogandt Sheri Adams
Gabrielle Hall Kylie Ellis Tamara Mitchell
Georgina Halkerston Lara Rich Tanya  Taylor
Helen  McNamara Laura Godfrey Teresa   Simmonds
Helen  McLennan Leesa Borradaile Terri-Ann Ferguson 
Isabella Gosling Leon Marsden Theresa McCracken
Jackie  Cox-Taylor Libby Brain Trudy  Bartlett
Jacky  Dawson Linda  Brown Verona Ker
Jacqueline Craigie Lisa Partridge Wendy  Hickson
Jade Maksan Lisa Massie Zoe Lang


School Photography:

StJames Grantham SS
Gatton State School


Fig Tree Pocket



Production Partners:

Autism Queensland

Code Blue for Autism Logo

Web Development:

Thinking Cap Consulting


Multimedia production:

TPD Media


If you participated in any stage of inclusionED’s development and are not currently listed above, please contact us.